Craft fair, travelers and more on the house.

Well, this blog is due if not overdue, but I fear it will be a bit shorter than I would like it as it is getting late, and I won’t have much time to complete it. So…on to the interesting things.  My week has been quite full, if not overly exciting. There are a few highlights that I’ll share with everyone on here. Since my last blog post, (which was just posted tonight, but was written at least a week before) I have hosted a traveler from the Netherlands, gotten a visit from my Aunt and family, went to a U2 concert, and this weekend, went to a craft fair in the park just around the corner from me where my Aunt had a booth and hosted her for the nights while the craft fair was on. I have also managed to get a bit of house organization done…but not that much. Today, I got pretty much everything out of the sunroom, moved my papasan chair and set up my laptop at a little desk. Now, I think I’ll be spending a fair amount of time here as it is quite nice. It is surrounded by windows, most of which are open, subjecting my not objecting self to the fresh breeze and light patter of raindrops drifting in. I’ll enjoy the papasan chair to curl up in with a novel; a couple days ago I picked up “The Seeker”. a fictitious story of a young woman in Civil war era US who ends up joining the Shakers for a while.. The novel held some interest for me; I like historical fiction, and I liked the characters in this book.

Today, at the craft show, I got a pair of flip flops that are made African style, using recycled tires and leather, with beads for decoration. At only 15 dollars, I got a pair as they nicely happened to fit me. I had been looking at these sandals by Sole Rebels. Not quite the same style, but similar in that they are handmade using recycled tires. I like this idea. Plus, they seem very comfortable, and the lady assured me that they stand up to much use by women in Africa who walk long distances. This lady had come from Kenya to study accounting in New Brunswick, and her husband was the artisan who made the sandals and also the jewelry she was selling.

I also got a chance to sport fly-tied earrings made by my cousin who was also selling his wares along side my aunt. 

Leave a Reply

